Skip to main content

Early Childhood Staff Stipend Incentive Program

ATTENTION: The deadline to submit an application for the $1,000 staff stipend is May 31, 2022. You must complete the Registry membership application process and/or renew your membership no later than May 25th to ensure that you will be an active member of The Nevada Registry in time to apply for the stipend (you must also work in an eligible program). Stipend applications will not be accepted after the May 31, 2022 deadline. Don’t delay! Activate your Registry membership today!

Learn More About the Staff Stipend

The Nevada Registry’s Training Approval System (TAS) Advisory Workgroup was created to help guide the ongoing development of The Nevada Registry’s newly implemented trainer criteria, approval and qualification process.

The work of the TAS Advisory Workgroup includes, but is not limited to:

    • Assisting in the development of alternative processes for obtaining experience delivering training to adults;
    • Further defining the re-qualification/renewal criteria;
  • Assisting with the development of a training program for new trainers and mentoring program for existing trainers;
  • Exploring other components of the new and improved training approval system related to quality assurance (i.e., evaluation, observations);
  • Creating an evaluation process for approved trainers to evaluate the Training Approval System annually; and
  • Providing overall support to The Nevada Registry in the community related to trainer criteria.

Workgroup Composition

The TAS Advisory Workgroup is comprised of members representing The Nevada Registry (staff), The Nevada Registry Advisory Committee, the Registry Advisory Committee Trainer Criteria Workgroup and specific sectors of the trainer community and Early Childhood workforce in Nevada. Appointed members of the workgroup were all approved as trainers in 2017 under the new trainer qualification and approval criteria and were selected through an application process.

Workgroup Timeline/Commitment

The TAS Advisory Workgroup began its work in August 2017 and was originally slated to conclude in December 2019. Because this work is ongoing, the workgroup remain active and continues to meet quarterly.

Workgroup Members

Shelly Nye – Program Director
Member Category: Staff
Employer: The Nevada Registry


John Cregg (appointed in 2019 due to vacancy)
Member Category: NevAEYC, T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood Nevada
Employer: NevAEYC
Cris Dennis
Member Category: Center Director – URBAN/Las Vegas, Nevada Registry Advisory Committee Member
Employer: La Petite Academy
Julie Houchins
Member Category: Support Service Provider
Employer: United Way of Southern Nevada
Evelyn Knight
Member Category: Center Director – RURAL
Employer: Zoo’n Around
Mirna Mejia (appointed in 2020 due to vacancy)
Member Category: Topic Trainer, Subsidy Representative
Employer: Las Vegas Urban League
Tiffany Olivas
Member Category: Funding Agency Representative, QRIS
Employer: Nevada Department of Education, Office of Early Learning and Development
LeAn Shelton
Member Category: NevAEYC
Employer: LeAn Shelton Consulting LLC
Tina Springmeyer
Member Category: Early Childhood Advisory Committee (ECAC) Member, Nevada Pre-K Standards, District Representative, Nevada Registry Advisory Committee Member
Employer: Washoe County School District
Shunica Stiles (appointed in 2019 due to vacancy)
Member Category: QRIS Coordinator, Subsidy Representative
Employer: The Children’s Cabinet
Lisa Torgerson
Member Category: Child Care Licensing, Nevada Registry Advisory Committee Member
Employer: Nevada Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public and Behavioral Health